Structure of Content and Web Writing

Present Content that Is “Scannable”

Users don’t read websites, they scan through them looking for the information they’re interested in at that particular moment. They pay particular attention to pictures, headings, and links, but at most only read the beginning of or skim through the body of a text. This is why you should present your content in a way that allows users to easily find what they’re looking for while they scan through the website. Your content should be able to stand for itself and be understood.

Choose Meaningful Page Titles

Choose page titles that accurately and clearly represent their content, no more and no less. Website users should be able to quickly recognize whether they're in the right place to look for their information.

Structure Your Content

Make it easier for website users to find their way by structuring content clearly. Content positioned prominently in the field of vision is more easily noticed and intuitively perceived as more important. This is why you should always place the most important information in the central column. Use headings and lists to further structure your website, and put additional content and further information into the right column (related content).

Group Your Content

Website users don’t register content on the web in a linear way, but pick out the content that they’re interested in. If you’re presenting several topics on one page, you should group the information into sections that are clearly identifiable. Create a separate section of text for each subtopic and add headings that are self-evident and could stand alone. Use headings that describe the information as accurately as possible. In the sections of the text, however, only include what is promised in the heading (no more, no less). If you have pictures, graphs, or tables, position them in such a way that it’s clear to which text they belong.

Set Text Width to between 50 and 70 Characters

Ideal readability for web texts is achieved with a text width of between 50 and 70 characters (or 8 to 12 words) per line. Fewer characters offer too little identifiable content per line, while anything above this threshold makes it difficult for your eyes to find the beginning of the next line. Therefore, if possible please always choose the three-column layout of UZH’s web CD for web texts, even if you don’t have any content for the column on the right (related content).

Limit Texts to No More Than 700 Words

Short web texts are more likely to be read than long ones. The content of a page should therefore not cover more than three scrolls or exceed 700 words. If your content goes beyond this, you might want to rethink the structure of your page and split up the information and spread it out across multiple (sub-)pages.

Avoid Information Overload, no “Happy Talk”

A good website offers only the information that a user needs and expects – no more, no less. Too much information will get in the users’ way as they search for their information. Therefore, omit any unnecessary words. Keep your introductory texts and instructions short and succinct, or leave them out altogether if they’re not required or don’t add value. While the use of so-called “happy talk”, which dates back to the dawn of the internet (e.g. “Welcome to our website”, “On this page you will find all the information about...”, “Please fill in the form below”), still persists, it doesn’t add anything of value and should therefore be avoided on modern, well-structured websites.

Adapt Your Language Style to Your Target Readers

It’s very important to use a language style that is suited to your audience. It makes a difference if you’re writing for first-year students, laypersons, or a scientific community. Adapt your style to your target readers and explain specialist terms if necessary. Avoid complicated technical jargon if your content is (also) aimed at laypersons. Keep abbreviations to a minimum and explain them by introducing them in an understandable way.

Active instead of Passive Voice

Whenever possible, write sentences in the active rather than the passive voice. An active, direct style has a more friendly, personal, and less “bureaucratic” effect than a passive and reserved style, which is often found in legal texts and terms and conditions. For example, write “If you have any questions, please contact our Support Team” instead of “Questions will be answered by our Support Team.”

Write Clear and Simple Sentences

Use short sentences and familiar words. Avoid fillers, decorative words, and verbose language. Unlike journalistic or literary texts, a text that presents information in the web should not be written as beautifully or imaginatively as possible. The most obvious or well-known expressions are often the best and most understandable ones. If possible, you should take advantage of existing conventions and avoid reinventing the wheel.

Make Consistent Use of Terms

Make consistent use of terms across all sections of the text and website. This makes it easier for website users to find their way and recognize connections. Unlike in the news or blog posts, repetition is not taboo – on the contrary: Synonyms are likely to confuse readers. For university-wide terms (e.g. inaugural lecture or associated institute), please consult UZH’s terminology database www.uniterm.uzh.ch and use the official UZH terms and spelling (German and English).

Use Upper and Lowercase Style

Text written in upper and lowercase is easier to read than ALL CAPS or all lowercase. Moreover, typing in all caps is considered YELLING and thus further compromises a text’s readability.

Keep Inline Formatting to a Minimum

Words in italics and/or in bold are confusing and create patchiness, which interrupts the reading flow. This is why you should keep such formatting within sections of text to a minimum. If you have to highlight several expressions or words, consider rethinking the structure of your text and using (sub-)headings instead.

The readability and comprehension of a text deteriorates with every link that is added. For every link, the website user’s brain has to make a split-second decision whether to click on it or not. The flow of the text (and with it the comprehension of the text) is thus interrupted even if the user doesn’t click on the link. Whenever possible, links should be added at the end of a page, text section, or teaser. This also increases clarity and facilitates reader guidance by offering a summary of, continuation of, or addition to the information mentioned. In addition, website users who are only interested in the links aren’t “forced” to read through the whole text.

When naming a link, describe where the link will take you as precisely and clearly as possible. If possible, use the page title of the link destination as the link text. An ideal text length for links is between one and five words. You should avoid meaningless link texts such as “here” or “more”, unless in the case of structured pages (such as news overviews or team pages), where these links are added automatically.

Optimierung der Inhalte

1. Inhalte «scannbar» präsentieren

Benutzer lesen Websites nicht, sondern scannen sie auf der Suche nach denjenigen Informationen, die unmittelbar interessieren. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit erhalten Bilder, Überschriften und Links, der eigentliche Fliesstext wird höchstens überflogen oder «angelesen». Präsentieren Sie deshalb Ihre Inhalte so, dass die Website-Besucher ihre gewünschten Informationen beim «Scannen» möglichst schnell und klar auffinden und diese für sich allein stehen und verstanden werden können.

2. Sprechende Seitentitel wählen

Wählen Sie Seitentitel, welche den Inhalt möglichst genau und klar umfassen und nicht weniger und nicht mehr versprechen. Der Website-Besucher soll möglichst rasch erkennen können, ob er hier seine gewünschten Informationen findet oder nicht.

3. Inhalte strukturieren

Erleichtern Sie dem Website-Besucher die Orientierung, indem Sie die Inhalte klar strukturieren. Inhalte, die im zentralen Gesichtsfeld platziert sind, werden besser wahrgenommen und intuitiv als wichtiger empfunden. Platzieren Sie darum die wichtigsten Informationen immer in der mittleren Spalte. Nutzen Sie für die weitere Strukturierung Überschriften und Listen und setzen Sie Zusatzinhalte oder weiterführende Inhalte in die rechte Spalte (Related Content).

4. Inhalte gruppieren

Website-Besucher erfassen Web-Inhalte nicht linear, sondern picken sich die für sie interessanten Inhalte heraus. Wenn Sie mehrere Themen auf einer Seite präsentieren, gruppieren Sie die einzelnen Inhalte in klar erkennbare Bereiche. Erstellen Sie für jedes Unterthema einen eigenen Textabschnitt mit Überschrift, welcher für sich allein stehen und verstanden werden kann. Setzen Sie Überschriften, die möglichst genau beschreiben, um was es geht. Erläutern Sie umgekehrt im Textabschnit nur das, was die Überschrift verspricht (nicht mehr, nicht weniger). Platzieren Sie allfällige Fotos, Grafiken oder Tabellen so, dass klar ist, zu welchem Textabschnitt sie gehören.

5. Textbreite auf 50-70 Zeichen setzen

Die optimale Lesbarkeit von Texten im Web liegt bei einer Textbreite von 50-70 Zeichen (oder 8-12 Wörtern) pro Zeile. Kürzere Textbreiten bieten zu wenig erfassbaren Inhalt pro Zeile, und bei grösseren Textbreiten fällt es dem Auge schwer, den Zeilenanfang für die nächstfolgende Zeile zu finden. Wählen Sie darum für Webtexte wenn immer möglich das 3-spaltige Layout des UZH-Web-CD’s, auch wenn Sie keinen Inhalt für die rechte Spalte (Related Content) haben.

6. Textlänge auf maximal 700 Wörter beschränken

Kurze Webtexte werden lieber und häufiger gelesen als lange. Seiteninhalte sollten über maximal drei Scrolllängen reichen oder maximal 700 Wörter beinhalten. Ist mehr Inhalt nötig, lohnt es sich, die Seitenstruktur zu überdenken und die Inhalte auf weitere Unterseiten aufzuteilen bzw. auszulagern.

7. Unnötigen Ballast entfernen, kein «Happy Talk»

Eine gute Website bietet nur diejenigen Inhalte, die ein Benutzer benötigt und erwartet – nicht mehr und nicht weniger. Unnötiger Ballast stört den Website-Besucher bei seiner Suche nach den gewünschten Informationen. Lassen Sie «nutzlose» Wörter weg. Halten Sie Einleitungen und Instruktionen kurz oder lassen Sie sie ganz weg, falls sie inhaltlich nicht nötig sind oder keinen Mehrwert bieten. Die sogenannten «Happy Words» aus den Anfängen der Webzeit («Willkommen auf unserer Website», «Auf dieser Seite erhalten Sie alle Informationen zu...», «Bitte füllen Sie das untenstehende Formular aus») halten sich zwar hartnäckig, liefern aber keinen nützlichen Inhalt und haben darum auf einer «modernen», gut aufgebauten Website nichts mehr zu suchen.

8. Sprachstil an Zielgruppe anpassen

Ein nutzergerechter Sprachstil ist von hoher Wichtigkeit. Es ist ein Unterschied, ob Sie einen Text für Erstsemestrige, für Laien oder für ein wissenschaftliches Fachpublikum schreiben. Passen Sie Ihre Formulierungen der Zielgruppe an und erklären Sie fachspezifische Begriffe genügend und ausführlich. Vermeiden Sie komplizierten «Fachjargon», wenn sich die Inhalte (auch) an Laien richten. Nutzen Sie Abkürzungen spärlich und erläutern Sie diese bzw. führen Sie diese verständlich ein.

9. Aktives statt passives Wording

Schreiben Sie wo immer möglich in der aktiven statt passiven Form. Ein aktiver, direkter Stil wirkt freundlicher, persönlicher und weniger «bürokratisch» als ein passiver, distanzierter Stil, welcher an Gesetzestexte oder Geschäftsbedingungen erinnert. Beispiel: «Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an unser Support-Team» statt «Fragen werden von unserem Support-Team entgegengenommen».

10. Einfach und klar schreiben

Machen Sie kurze Sätze, verwenden Sie bekannte Wörter und vermeiden Sie Füllwörter, Auschmückungen und «blumigen» Stil. Anders als im Journalismus oder in der Literatur geht es bei der Präsentation von Informationen im Web nicht darum, möglichst schön, ideenreich oder phantasievoll zu schreiben. Meist sind die naheliegendsten oder bekanntesten Formulierungen die besten und verständlichsten. Falls möglich, nutzen Sie die Vorteile von bestehenden Konventionen und «erfinden Sie das Rad nicht neu».

11. Konsistente Verwendung von Begriffen

Verwenden Sie Begriffe und Bezeichnungen einheitlich über mehrere Textabschnitte oder Seiten hinweg. Dies erleichtert es dem Website-Besucher, sich zu orientieren und Zusammenhänge zu erkennen. Anders als bei Nachrichten oder Blog-Beiträgen sind darum Wiederholungen hier nicht tabu, im Gegenteil: Synonyme verwirren den User mehr. Für gesamtuniversitäre Begriffe (wie zum Beispiel «Antrittsvorlesung»  oder «Assoziiertes Institut») konsultieren Sie bitte die UZH-Terminologie-Datenbank www.uniterm.uzh.ch und verwenden Sie die dort festgesetzte, offizielle Bezeichnung und Schreibweise (in deutsch und englisch).

12. Konventionelle Anwendung von Gross- und Kleinschrift

Texte in Gross- und Kleinschrift sind besser lesbar als REINE GROSSSCHRIFT oder reine kleinschrift. Grossbuchstaben «SCHREIEN» zudem und erschweren damit die Lesbarkeit zusätzlich.

13. Minimale Inline-Formatierung

Mehrere fett und/oder kursiv hervorgehobene Wörter schaffen Unübersichtlichkeit und Fleckigkeit und behindern den Lesefluss. Beschränken Sie darum solche Formatierungen innerhalb von Textabschnitten auf ein Minimum. Müssen mehrere Ausdrücke oder Wörter hervorgehoben werden, überdenken Sie die Textstruktur und setzen Sie diese stattdessen als Überschrift oder Zwischentitel.

14. Links innerhalb von Textabschnitten vermeiden

Die Lesbarkeit und das Textverständnis von Webtexten ist schlechter, je mehr Links innerhalb eines Textabschnittes gesetzt sind. Das Gehirn des Website-Besuchers muss bei jedem Link blitzschnell entscheiden, ob es diesem folgt oder nicht. Der Lesefluss (und damit auch das Textverständnis) wird somit auch dann gestört, wenn der Website-Besucher dem Link gar nicht folgt. Wenn immer möglich setzen Sie darum Links an das Ende einer Seite, eines Textabschnittes oder eines Teasers. Dies erhöht ausserdem die Übersicht und fördert die Leserführung im Sinne einer Zusammenfassung, Wiederaufnahme oder Weiterführung der erwähnten Informationen. Ausserdem werden Website-Besucher, die sich nur für die Links interessieren, nicht «gezwungen», den ganzen Textabschnitt erst durchzulesen.

15. Links eindeutig und klar bezeichnen

Beschreiben Sie in der Bezeichnung der Links das Linkziel möglichst genau und klar. Falls möglich, verwenden Sie den Seitentitel des Linkziels als Linktext. Die ideale Länge von Linktexten liegt zwischen einem und fünf Wörtern. Inhaltsleere Linktexte wie «hier» oder «mehr» sind tabu, es sei denn, es handelt sich um strukturierte Seitentypen (wie News-Übersichten oder Team-Seiten), wo diese Links automatisch gesetzt werden.